The Square by Sweden's Ruben Ostlund wins Palme d'Or

Diane Kruger wins best actress for role in Turkish-German director Fatih Akin’s In the Fade at Cannes Film Festival

Anadolu Agency

Swedish director Ruben Ostlund's The Square has won this year’s Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival on Sunday.

The film -- an art-world satire which centers on a museum curator -- stars Claes Bang, Dominic West and Elisabeth Moss.

In 2014, the 43-year-old director also won Un Certain Regard’s prize at Cannes for his drama Force Majeure.

Presided by Spanish auteur Pedro Almodovar, the Cannes jury awarded the best director prize to American director Sofia Coppola for her drama “The Beguiled”.

German-American Diane Kruger won the best actress award for her role in Turkish-German director Fatih Akin’s film In the Fade, a thriller set within Turkish community in Germany.

A surprise prize -- the Special 70th Cannes Festival anniversary -- was awarded to the Australian-American actress Nicole Kidman, who featured in four movies in competition this year.

The 2017 Cannes International Film Festival ran from May 17 to 28 in Cannes, France.

The festival included 49 films from 29 countries, according to the festival website.

Last year, British director Ken Loach won the Palme d’Or for the movie I, Daniel Blake.

In 2014, it was won by Turkish director Nuri Bilge Ceylan for his movie Winter Sleep.

Winners from the closing night ceremony of the 70th Cannes film festival:

Palme d’Or: The Square

70th Anniversary Award: Nicole Kidman

Grand Prix: Beats Per Minute by Robin Campillo

Best Director: Sofia Coppola (The Beguiled)

Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here

Best Actress: Diane Kruger, In the Fade

Jury prize: Andrey Zvyagintsev, Loveless

Caméra d’Or (best first feature): Jeune Femme (director: Leonor Serraille)

Best Screenplay: Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimis Filippou “The Killing of a Sacred Deer” and Lynne Ramsay “You Were Never Really Here”