FIFA World Cup 2018 Group G: Belgium

Belgium to contest with powerful team, including Kevin De Bruyne and Eden Hazard

Anadolu Agency

Belgium will take on England, Poland and Japan in Group G of the World Cup.

The Red Devils qualified for Russia 2018 after leading their European qualifying group with 9 wins and 1 draw, accumulating 28 points.

Belgium enjoyed high scoring matches against teams like Estonia, Gibraltar, Greek Cypriot administration, and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

The team have lots of talented players playing in major leagues in Europe, including goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois and Eden Hazard of Chelsea, Kevin de Bruyne and Vincent Kompany of Manchester City, Romelu Lukaku of Manchester United and Dries Mertens of Napoli.

Belgium's second-greatest achievement in their World Cup history came in 2014 Brazil, when they played quarterfinal match against Argentina.

In their 12 appearances in the World Cup, the team only managed to finish fourth at most, coming in 1986 Mexico.

Brazil street art gets World Cup flavour as soccer mania grips
Reuters Agency

Brazil street art gets World Cup flavour as soccer mania grips

Amidst the buzz of the World Cup in Russia, Brazil's street artists have taken to the cities walls and footpaths, spray cans and paintbrushes in hand. New paintings have sprung up in Rio de Janeiro along its iconic shoreline, many of which are positive and focus on the patriotic support. For many locals, these displays of green and yellow are a welcome relief for a country recovering from one of its worst recessions in decades.

Belgium's confirmed 23-men squad:

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Koen Casteels (Wolfsburg).

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur), Thomas Meunier (Paris Saint-Germain), Thomas Vermaelen (Barcelona), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur), Dedryck Boyata (Celtic), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United), Axel Witsel (Tianjin Quanjian), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Nacer Chadli (West Bromwich Albion), Leander Dendoncker (Anderlecht), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Monchengladbach), Youri Tielemans (Monaco), Mousa Dembele (Tottenham Hotspur).

Forwards: Michy Batshuayi (Chelsea), Yannick Carrasco (Dalian Yifang), Adnan Januzaj (Real Sociedad), Romelu Lukaku (Manchester United), Dries Mertens (Napoli).

Manager: Roberto Martinez.


We use cookies limited for the aims specified in the data policy and in accordance with the legislation. For details please see our data policy.